Marion County Farm Bureau has announced the winners of the 2019 Marion County Farm Bureau Scholarship.

This year, the board received many applications.

The judging process consisted of the applications being submitted to the board member’s anonymously. Once all were read they voted for first, second third place winners.

The first place winner, receiving a $1,000 scholarship, was Joshua Underhill of Palmyra. 

Underhill, the son of Jim and Sheryl Underhill of Palmyra, is a 2017 graduate of Monroe City R-1 and attends the University of Missouri in Columbia, majoring in ag systems/ agribusiness management.

The second place winner, receiving a $500 scholarship, is Jess Grieman of Monroe City.

Grieman, the son of Heath and Tiffany Grieman, attends Northwest Missouri State University majoring in ag business.

There was a tie for third place with Trevor DeHaan, of Taylor, and Zachary Rosenkrans, of Palmyra, both receiving $250.

DeHaan, son of Kevin and Diane DeHaan, of Taylor, attends South Dakota State University graduate school to obtain his master’s degree in animal science.

Rosenkrans, the son of Mike and Ruth Rosenkrans, of Palmyra, is a 2019 graduate of Palmyra High School and will be attending Kansas State University this fall, majoring in horticulture.