Skip to content

PHS to host boys district wrestling tournament

The Missouri State High School Activities Association has announced a modified schedule for its postseason wrestling championships. 

The modifications include changes to some dates as well as a change in the championships location.

As announced earlier, the number of districts was expanded from four to eight. A sectional round was also added to the post-season. 

The MSHSAA championships will be broken down into five individual tournaments, one for each boys classification and the girls classification. Each event will be conducted in one day.

To comply with NFHS wrestling rules regarding maximum number of matches in a day, the number of qualifiers in each weight class will be reduced to 12. 

The top four finishers in each weight class from each district will qualify for the sectional round. The top three finishers from each weight class at each of the four sectionals will qualify for the state championships.

Due to questions and uncertainty of venue/facility availability relative to COVID-19, the 2021 wrestling championships will be held at Cable Dahmer Arena in Independence.

The current postseason schedule, listed below, is subject to change if deemed necessary due to encountering any unknown or unpredicted variables relative to COVID-19 precautions.

Girls district tournaments: Feb. 5-6

Boys district tournaments: Feb. 13

Girls sectional tournaments: Feb. 20

Boys sectional tournaments: Feb. 27

State wrestling championships: March 9-13.

Palmyra will host District 2 competition Saturday, Feb. 13, in the PHS gym.

Other competing schools include Centralia, Christian, Father Tolton Regional Catholic, Hallsville, Missouri Military Academy, North Callaway and Trinity Catholic.

The Palmyra girls will compete in district action at Holt High School in Wentzville this Friday and Saturday.

Other competing schools are Brentwood, Clayton, Francis Howell, Francis Howell Central, Francis Howell North, Ft. Zumwalt East, Ft. Zumwalt North, Ft. Zumwalt South, Ft. Zumwalt West, Holt, Ladue Horton Watkins, Liberty (Wentzville), McCluer, McCluer North, Orchard Farm, Pattonville, Ritenour, St. Charles, STEAM Academy at McCluer South-Berkeley, Timberland, Troy Buchanan, Winfield and Wright City